The Keystone State is a beautiful state to drive through. From the rolling hills of the east to the rugged mountains of the Poconos, automobiles are a great way to take in the scenery of Pennsylvania. Insurance requirements, as with any other state, should be taken into consideration before making that drive.
Mandatory liability insurance is a requirement for all motor vehicles registered in the State. Minimum coverage should include $5,000 for property damage as well as $15,000 in bodily injury per person or $30,000 for more than one person in an accident. Proof of insurance should be available at all time. Those caught for a traffic violation while operating a vehicle without insurance face a number of penalties. These could include a minimum fine of $300, three-month suspension of tags and driver’s license, vehicle impoundment, and reinstatement fees for tags and license.
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania follows a tort system, which means anyone injured in a car accident can sue the driver of the vehicle for property damage and medical costs. Because of this, it is recommended the auto owner carry more than the minimum required amount of coverage on his or her automobile.
Additionally, simple liability coverage only covers those injured or damages to the party not deemed to be at fault. This can leave you high and dry with major bills for repairs or the cost of a new car. For this reason, a Pennsylvania insurance policy with collision and comprehensive coverage is recommended.